TreinPunt.nl

Train Simulators => Microsoft Train Simulator MSTS / OpenRails OR => MSTS / OR International => Topic started by: bevaart on Tuesday 22 September, 2015, 20:05:50

Title: MSTS in C:\ ??
Post by: bevaart on Tuesday 22 September, 2015, 20:05:50
I read with interest the various opinions about downloading MSTS.
I am ready to re-install it, Mr. deJong has some pertinent points .
The Administrator in Win 8.1 is a royal pain, running with administrator does NOT always work in 8.1
It raises a few questions for me however.
Do I download everything with C:\trainsimulator, and omit program files altogether?
Will I get rid of that everlasting message "cannot open output file", as nobody seems to have an answer
for that, not even on the internet.
Find this forum very educational, hope I get some answers.
Greetings from Canada,  Anthony.

Title: Re: MSTS in C:\ ??
Post by: Tom on Tuesday 22 September, 2015, 20:35:10
I really don't get what you're saying, installing MSTS directly under C:\ is always a good idea.
Title: Re: MSTS in C:\ ??
Post by: bevaart on Wednesday 23 September, 2015, 01:37:21
Sorry, my mistake, I will explain better.
It has been suggested in this forum that downloading MSTS to just" C:\MSTS" rather than
C:\Programfiles (x86)Microsoft Games etc.etc. you will have less Administrator interference.
And just may be I am not understanding it right.
And that is what I am saying!

SIGNED,      Anthony.

Title: Re: MSTS in C:\ ??
Post by: KerAp on Wednesday 23 September, 2015, 02:49:35
If installed the right way, it shouldn't be necessary, although it might make things easier for you.

I can't really say if it gets rid of the "cannot open output file" message, just try it and see if it does.  ;)

But if your account has full rights to your program files folder you can install msts to it without problems.
Title: Re: MSTS in C:\ ??
Post by: FrEdBakker on Wednesday 30 September, 2015, 03:12:08
If installed the right way, it shouldn't be necessary, although it might make things easier for you.

I can't really say if it gets rid of the "cannot open output file" message, just try it and see if it does.  ;)

But if your account has full rights to your program files folder you can install msts to it without problems.
[/Hi Anthony b]

When we spoke about this issue , we did not discuss administrator rights.  My advice re installing MSTS  as c://Train Simulator , that is the way I have it under windows 7  is the best way , because MSTS  runs the best on windows xp and that is old hat now.

Cheers,

Father Ed Bakker
SimplePortal 2.3.7 © 2008-2021, SimplePortal